Kurt Vonnegut  November 11, 1922 – April 11, 2007

Kurt Vonnegut November 11, 1922 – April 11, 2007

I am not a Kurt Vonnegut expert. I’ve had only two encounters with him. Yet I’ve used my two Kurt Vonnegut stories many times over the years as I saw examples of his wisdom in real life.

The single image I’ve retained from Breakfast of Champions is the story of Zog, a flying saucer creature. Zog is sent to earth with the cure for cancer and the answer for world peace. He communicates by farting and tap dancing. Zog lands at night in Connectitut. He had no sooner touches down than he sees a house on fire. He rushes into the house, farting and tap dancing, warning the people about the terrible danger they’re in. The head of the house brains Zog with a golf club.

My second encounter was hearing Kurt Vonnegut speak at a local college. The piece of wisdom I often shared from that speech was something to the effect-‘ People seldom mature beyond the social level of junior high.’

So I was pleased to read  his short story “Shout About It From the Housetops” in this month’s Vanity Fair. There’s wisdom in the story. I’ll need to wait for life to show me an appropriate time to share it.

Enjoy some time with Kurt at –

October 2009: Kurt Vonnegut Fiction Exclusive Entertainment & Culture: vanityfair.com

Shared via AddThis

