When I was in elementary school I had a teacher who posted several Norman Rockwell pictures on the board. We were to select one and write a story. While as an adult I like Norman Rockwell, as a kid I couldn’t come up with a story from my life that related to his paintings.

Today I ran across a Robert Frank photo. As soon as I looked at Robert Frank’s photo (posted  below) I thought of many stories. Some were from memories and some were from the people in the photo. Where were they going? What were they thinking about? How could so many individuals look like they were somehow a group? Once I saw this photo I was on a quest to find out more about Robert Frank. I had never heard of this photographer.

robertfrank03

“When people look at my pictures I want them to feel the way they do when they want to read a line of a poem twice.” – Robert Frank – LIFE (26 November 1951), p. 21

I found out from Wiki –

Robert Frank (born November 9, 1924), born in Zürich, Switzerland, is an important figure in American photography and film. His most notable work, the 1958 photographic book titled simply The Americans, was heavily influential in the post-war period, and earned Frank comparisons to a modern-day de Tocqueville for his fresh and skeptical outsider’s view of American society.

It turns out that Robert Frank has gotten some press this week because he is the subject of a major new exhibition at the Metropolitan Museum of Art in NYC. The Daily Beast has a gallery of some of the photographs.

It is worth your time to view the photo gallery and read the article at the Daily Beast.

http://www.thedailybeast.com/blogs-and-stories/2009-09-17/robert-franks-america/?cid=hp:beastoriginalsC4

Or you can google his name and look at the images.  Robert Frank says – “There is one thing the photograph must contain, the humanity of the moment.” His photographs do.

