Read

see

that

me

up

will

I

like

and

you

like

you

down

and

you

if

I loved sharing this autograph verse with the kids at school. I’d post it and wait. Eventually some kid, never could guess who’d be first, would get that ‘Aha! I figured it out!’ grin. Let me know if  you solve it.

Pooh and friends

A dear friend called the other night. We’ve been friends so long she remembers the Jean-Paul Belmondo poster  I had in high school. She’s going through a rough patch and she wanted to laugh. We shared stories. We talked about Alain Delon. We laughed. I think the poem ‘Secret Talk’ by Eve Merriam describes those few but cherished friendships we have in our lives.

SECRET TALK

I have a friend

and sometimes we meet

and greet each other

without a word.

We walk through a field

and stalk a bird

and chew a blade of

pungent grass.

We let time pass

for a golden hour

while we twirl a flower

of Queen Anne’s lace

or find a lion’s face

shaped in a cloud

that’s drifting, sifting

across the sky.

There’s no need to say,

“It’s been a fine day”

when we say goodbye:

when we say goodbye

we just wave a hand

and we understand.

Eve Merriam

