July 20, 1969

Watched President Obama meeting the crew of Apollo 11. He recounted his boyhood memories of their walking on the moon. My memories are not so distinct. I was aware of it. Jessica was about 5 months old at the time. She was my important story of every day at that time. It sounds so unpatriotic not to remember ‘exactly’ where you were and what you were doing when it happened, but all I know for sure is that I was at the farm taking care of Jessica. It was before the age of cable news or the internet. While I thought it was amazing, it didn’t inspire me to want to become an astronaut.

Apollo 11

Lest my children think I’ve lost all memories I should add- I remember my mother talking about my mom and dad and his parents being at the Philadelphia train station when they heard the news about Pearl Harbor.  In Jr. High I was in the locker room at the end of a gym class when they turned on the tv to show the news coverage of Alan Shepard blasting off to be the first American in space. I was in a high school  classroom when they announced that President Kennedy had been assassinated and we were all sent home from school early.  I remember being in bed listening to the radio when they said that John Lennon had been killed. I remember I was defrosting the refrigerator at the farm when the radio announced that Elvis had died. I was in front of a classroom teaching when a co-worker came in and whispered in my ear that the planes had flown into the World Trade Center on 9/11. So I haven’t forgotten everything, just exactly where I was when they stepped on the moon.

