Labyrinth Movie Poster

Labyrinth Movie Poster

I never saw Labyrinth in the theater. Years ago the video tape showed up at our house and it became a family favorite. Loved the characters like Hoggle. Frequently used the phrase ‘bog of eternal stench’ in various contexts.

A favorite quote was:

Sarah: That’s not fair!

Jareth: You say that so often. I wonder what your basis of comparison is?

And my very favorite quote which is helpful to remember when working your way through any labyrinth:

Sarah: Through dangers untold and hardships unnumbered, I have fought my way here to the castle beyond the Goblin City to take back the child that you have stolen. For my will is as strong as yours, and my kingdom is as great. You have no power over me.

When Alexis was hospitalized with pseudomonas eating the cornea of her left eye she was in a lot of pain. For several days she was given eye drop medication every few hours round the clock. Her first night in the hospital I made Jim take me to a Wal -Mart type store desperate  to get anything I could think of that might make Alexis more comfortable. I bought a personal CD player. That first night Alexis did find some comfort listening to my Harry Nilsson  CD and the soundtrack to Labyrinth. She told me that listening to that music helped her relax and take her mind off her pain  during that difficult time. I had never really listened to the lyrics to the song ‘As the World Falls Down’ until I posted them yesterday. It is an oddly beautiful song.

Yesterday Alexis introduced another generation to the wonderful world of the Labyrinth. Her two young cousins and she enjoyed watching the dvd. Labyrinth is a must have of any movie collection.

